Novotel Ottawa City Centre Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.3/5 9,296 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Novotel Ottawa City Centre
See on a map
+ 21 Services

Hotel extras

  • Free WiFi, work space, LCD TV, mini fridge, espresso maker (only in upgraded rooms)

  • Naturally lit indoor pool, gym, sauna

  • 6 flexible rooms for events that work

  • Rideau Shopping Centre (including one of the only Nordstrom in Canada)

  • Across the street from the Shaw Centre , 2 blocks from the Byward Market, 10min to Parliament

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • ParkingPaying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowed
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Laundry
  • Boutiques/shopping
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Jacuzzi
Business services
  • 8 meeting room(s)
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service availablePaying
Information message

Hotel location

Novotel Ottawa City Centre

33 Nicholas Street
K1N 9M7 ottawa
canada

Tel: +16132303033

Fax: (+1)6137604765

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • ACCESS : 

  • By plane

    OTTAWA INTL At 18km / 11.25 miles

  • By car

    NICHOLAS STREET EXIT At 2km / 1.24 miles

  • By train

    OTTAWA VIA RAIL STATION At 7km / 4.35 miles

GPS :45.425818, -75.689128

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious rooms with a King bed or 2 Doubles, en suite bath/shower, complimentary WiFi & HSIA, ergonomic work area, LCD TV with pay movies, laptop size safe, mini fridge, hair dryer, MP3 alarm clock, tea/coffee. Stunning new rooms! 1 King bed or 2 Doubles, en suite shower, free WiFi & HSIA, work area, LCD Smart TV, HDMI & screen mirroring capability, laptop safe, tea/coffee, fridge, bathrobe & slippers, hair dryer, free local calls & bottled water.

Standard Room with 1 King Bed, 210 sqf - 19.5 sqm

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 19 / 205 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

Standard Room with 1 King Bed, 240 sqf - 22.3 sqm

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 22 / 237 sq ft

Superior Room with 1 King Bed - Single Sofa bed on request and upon availability

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 25 / 269 sq ft

Superior Room with 1 king Bed and 1 Pull-out Sofa - Up to 4 people

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 25 / 269 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

Superior Room with 2 Double Beds (Dimension: 53"x 80" / 135 x 200cm)

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 25 / 269 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

THE ALBION ROOMS RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: Regional

The Albion Rooms Lounge & Dinning is inspired by a farm to table mentality. Our chef uses local produce to create an ever changing menu. The Bar is stocked with local craft beers, a creative selection of wines and exciting house made cocktails.

Lunch

11:00 - 15:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

16:00 - 00:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

ALBION ROOMS LOUNGE

Non contractual photo

Only guide dogs are allowed in food and beverage points of sale. Opening hours: 11.00 - 23.00 on Sunday.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 8

  • Maximum size: 167

  • Maximum capacity: 180 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 140 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Ottawa City Centre

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.3/5

9,296 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,893 reviews

2020 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2020

The attenation from all the hotel staff

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

eli487 Business - 22/02/2021 TripAdvisor review

When you stay at the novotel at ottawa it does feel as part of your family They do care about the hotel guest, each staff member try the best they can for you. with all the hardship they suffer, the hotel management do not save anything from the guests. I will replace my future stay in ottawa with any other hotel

Great central location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 16/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very friendly service

Dear Robert, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed some aspects of your stay and especially the hotel's location and the staff's friendliness. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travel plans include The Novotel Ottawa! Sincerely, Achref Sassi

Very clean, safe, friendly

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Sergey V. Couples - 15/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I wasn’t sure what to expect from the hotel during the pandemic but my stay went great. Staff was super friendly and helpful, and the room we were upgraded to was super clean, spacious and had a nice view. Although bars and restaurants were closed, morning coffee was offered at the reception (which was a really nice surprise). We used the hotel’s underground parking - a very convenient option if you come by car. It costs $28 CAD and there is a direct elevator bringing you to the hotel. Thank you for your kind words in the welcoming note and for the yummy donuts! Oh yes, the location is perfect - right in the downtown core, 5 Minutes walk to the Canal and O-Tram station, shopping malls, parliament, byward market and more. I’ll certainly come back. Highly recommend.

Dear Sergey, Many thanks for your wonderful feedback for The Novotel Ottawa and your kind words in relation to our hospitality and the service of our team. It gives us much happiness as it does you knowing that we are able to deliver upon all wishes. We always strive for excellence and we thank you for sharing your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Achref Sassi

well located

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Rosalee Couples - 13/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was fine but parking was too expensive.

Dear Rosalee, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed some aspects of your stay and especially the hotel's location. Please note that the parking is public and the hotel has only the flat rate of $28 per night with unlimited in and out. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travel plans include The Novotel Ottawa! Achref Sassi

Fantastic service and great location!

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Susan Solo - 13/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was really pleased with the hotel staff. They were really friendly and accommodating. For example, I was given a spacious room and a later check-out. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The location was perfect - a few minutes walk to the canal for a morning skate!

Dear Susan, What a great review. Thank you for your amazing comments! It has given me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Novotel Ottawa and we are so proud that you felt our team were friendly and welcoming and looked after you during your time with us. Hospitality is at the heart of everything we do and it is always very rewarding when guests take the time to give us such great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travel plans include The Novotel Ottawa! Sincerely, Achref Sassi

Good stay!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Solo - 12/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The room was clean and bright. All the mesure for Covid-19 were in place.

Dear Monica, Many thanks for your wonderful feedback for The Novotel Ottawa and your kind words in relation to our hospitality and the service of our team. It gives us much happiness as it does you knowing that we are able to deliver upon all wishes. We always strive for excellence and we thank you for sharing your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Achref Sassi
Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Solo - 11/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Was a good experience especially with assistance from the staff at the reception.

Dear Edith, Thank you for your amazing comments! It has given me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Novotel Ottawa and we are so proud that you felt our team were friendly and welcoming and looked after you during your time with us. Hospitality is at the heart of everything we do and it is always very rewarding when guests take the time to give us such great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travel plans include The Novotel Ottawa! Sincerely, Achref Sassi

EXCELLENT HOTEL WITH CLOSE PROXIMITY

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

ubaedithnonye 09/02/2021 TripAdvisor review

Due to COVID, I wasn’t able to access some facilities as I hoped to. However, Novotel services was spot on. My room was so clean, spacious and nice and they have good customer service especially at the reception.

Dear ubaedithnonye, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Novotel Ottawa. It is a delight to learn that you have had an enjoyable and comfortable experience during your stay and that the staff was able to help you have a great stay with us. Our guest's satisfaction is always our first priority. We look forward to welcoming you when the Covid situation will be over so that you can enjoy all the hotel facilities. Sincerely,

Always a great stay!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

P R. Families - 29/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great Covid protocols in place. Thank you for a safe and comfortable stay. Look forward to seeing you again soon! P

Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Novotel Ottawa. It is a delight to learn that you have had an enjoyable and comfortable experience during your stay and that the staff was able to help you have a great and safe stay with us. Our guest's satisfaction is always our first priority. We look forward to welcoming you the near future. Sincerely, Achref Sassi

In General, all staff try the best they can

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Eli R. Business - 10/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I am disappointed that no morning coffee and some fresh pastry.in the mornings I do understand why the kitchen is closed, But the hotel Management can organize some food via the front desk for the hotel guest.

Our Stay at Novotel

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Debra S 26/11/2020 TripAdvisor review

We did not have a good experience with the room. The thermostat was not working and room was very cold. The shower door was broken. Having arrived a bit late after coming from a funeral we attended in Toronto, this was very inconvenient - It appears maintenance is not high o the list of things to do. Perhaps COVID-19 situation is in part to blame. After complaining about the issue we were given the key for another room. This room did not have the view the other room had (we were viewing some garbage containers and other rooms - One would think that after the hassle we went through - at least give us a better view or one similar de one we had. One thing though! The Staff! Very Friendly and professional.

Dear Debra, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed some aspects of your stay and especially the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. However, I read your comment with great interest and I shared it with the concerned department heads to take the necessary measures. We extend our most sincere apologies for the frustrating impression you have received and actions will be taken immediately. Despite the details you mentioned above, I truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at The Novotel Ottawa and be assured that we will do our utmost to make your next stay unforgettable. Sincerely,

Excellent Hotel Getaway

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

victorlX3348VE 12/08/2020 TripAdvisor review

Did a quick getaway within the province during the COVID 19 pandemic. Hotel is actually fairly full (by the amount of cars parked in the garage), but very good social distance measures and prep work that gave the feeling to a lot of space. Amenities are mostly closed as expected, but no big deal as the location is decent and walkable distance to most attractions.

Dear VictorlX3348VE, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during these challenging times. We are all doing our utmost to keep everyone safe and we hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Raman Virk Front Office Manager

Super Clean and Modern Hotel in the heart of Byward Market, Ottawa

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

744heather 12/08/2020 TripAdvisor review

This hotel is always clean, and efficient with very courteous staff on site. A 5 minute walk to University of Ottawa for visiting parents or a 2 minute walk into the Byward Market for a night on the town...it is all right there. Underground parking offered to guests for a fee is very handy.

Dear 744Heather, Thank you very much as we appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback as we hope to see you again soon for another magnificent journey with us. Sincerely, Raman Virk Front Office Manager

Great experience

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

sarasz2020 15/07/2020 TripAdvisor review

Amazing location! Very accommodating and helpful staff. Place was spotless, room requests were taken into consideration. 4 stars because it was very hot and the room temperature stayed at around 21 degrees and the bed was a bit lumpy

Dear Sarasz2020, Thank you for your kind words with regards to your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again the next time you are in Ottawa. Sincerely, Raman Virk Front Office Manager

Travelling again after COVID lockdown

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Nedab123 06/07/2020 TripAdvisor review

We travelled to Ottawa to have a weekend away. The hotel has made noticeable changes to protect the hotel guests. A few things to know: - rooms are not cleaned daily. The rooms are left 48 hours after you leave before they are cleaned - you will need to ask for new towels daily - the air conditioning is set to one temperature. At one point I had the AC turned down to 16, the system would not let the room get any cooler than 23. - the service review and value ratings are average because of the reduced service and average price, taking into consideration you are understandably not getting normal service.

Dear Nedab123, Thank you so very much for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent visit to the Novotel Ottawa Hotel during these challenging times. The team are doing all that we can to keep our guest safe and therefore have limited service on offer at present. We were delighted, we had the opportunity to welcome you and look forward to accommodating you on your next visit to Ottawa. Regards Raman Virk Front Office Manager

Flexible under unprecedented circumstances

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Jlf Solo - 04/04/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Considering the shut down associated with COVID-19, staff remained incredibly flexible, accommodating and in a very upbeat mood. There were limited services on site and many stores and services closed in the area, but I still managed to have all my needs met.

Dear Janet F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team working as I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope you stay safe in this current environment. Sincerely, Raman Virk Front Office Manager

Friendly front desk, great location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Sher Business - 25/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed at the hotel for one night. The receptionist was very friendly. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable but the bedsheet smelled awful. It seemed that the staff did not change it. The breakfast was good. I am not satisfied with the payment for parking. When I booked a room it showed me that parking was included but I had to pay extra for it.

Dear Sherzod E., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback on the service revived during your stay. I will share your comments with the housekeeping team and please be rest assured all sheets are changed for all our new arriving guests. The parking is a 3rd party facility and all guest pay for this service, as you mentioned you had parking included during your time of booking, if you could provide any confirmation on this , as I will be happy to look into this for you. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Raman Virk Front Office Manager

Clean, friendly,great location,

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Families - 24/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was incredible, I would book with your hotel again. Thank you

Dear Troy Jude W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another magnifique journey with us. Sincerely, Raman VIrk Front Office Manager

Well located. Room was adequate

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - 21/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was adequate, breakfast was nice. Everyone was very helpful and enabled us to deal with the current situation.

Dear Nathan S., We very much appreciate your comments and scores regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Raman Virk

Good and helpful staff, but hotel not as good as when I stayed last time.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Joan M. Solo - 20/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Paid for breakfast and smoked salmon wasn't there. Hot items were lukewarm, and not much there. Toilet paper reminded me of very cheap British toilet paper not type for an expensive hotel. Very strong scented soap, shampoo with not unscented alternative. Most places ask people to be scent free - should definitely have these. Washed my hands and could smell that for hours, was concerned that it would be an issue for a friend I had dinner with.

Dear Joan M., Firstly, thank you for being a loyal member to the Accor group of hotels. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback on thee service and I will share your comments with our team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We have just purchased new toiletries for all guest rooms and the bathroom paper is more ozone friendly. We appreciate your comments on these items, as guest feedback is ever so important for us. I have made comments on your future reservation to have a scent free room. Joan, we thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely, Raman Virk

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in ottawa